Getting there

The Studio is coming along nicely. There’s still so much to organise though. I need to get lots of things and I need to paint lots of furniture before it is the way I would like it to be, but it certainly is getting there!!

I thought I’d show you what happened to the taped down wall

I was almost sorry to have to put the shelf on the wall and hide my lovely stripes! After I finished with it, I couldn’t stop smiling every time I went into the Studio. It’s sort of a cross between a circus and candy cane, don’t you think? The other side of the room is painted completely in the blue and the two ends of the room are painted in the Timeless White I used for the white stripes. Next on the list is the brown table on the picture and the chair.

I’ve painted the sewing/pattern/useful table but while the turquoise is a nice colour, I was too impatient with the drying time and didn’t wait long enough between the red base coat and the top turquoise, which means I can’t expose the red… Still, it’s better than it was before and I might paint it again. However, my darling husband helped me with raising the top of the table, so it is now at a perfect hight and my amazingly clever friend Jocelyn was ever so sweet and helped me cover it with interlining and a nice piece of fabric so I can now do this:

The table top is now thick enough that I can stick pins in it, and it doesn’t slide, so the fabric stays put. Good stuff!

Do you recognise the fabric? I think my friend Sarah might, as I used it when I made this cat for her beautiful little girl Zoe. This time though, I’m making a dress for Anabelle:

View 1. Should be sweet.

Well, it’s getting there! And look at that, you can even see the table and my inspiration board! That’s still a bit empty, but I’m working on it!! Can you believe I picked it up at a Boot Sale for £2? Bargain. I miss my Boot Sales.

Well, to finish the post off, I’ll include a few pictures of these wonderful Red Kites our friends and us saw recently at a feeding station. My wild life photography isn’t very good, so excuse the blurriness please!

Cheerio!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. do you mind if i knit
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 16:13:52

    Your studio is looking fantastic! I love your sewing table area, and the pattern your making for your little girl is just adorable, I so look forward to seeing that finished. I’m also looking forward to seeing the coat, that’s sooo exciting! Vanessa xxx

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 01:29:38

    Studio looks AMAZING! An amazing space for an amazing lady!! Our beautiful doll “Nika” takes pride of place in the girls bedroom! I recognised the fabric straight away! You have no idea how proud I am of you V! One in a million!

    Reply

  3. lalomino
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 11:37:09

    Sarah, you’re lovely!

    Reply

  4. Jo
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 19:54:35

    It’s all looking fantastic! Slightly envious of having all that room to yourself – although if I had that I’d have to do something creative and useful in it – way too much pressure!!! Very impressed by it all though V – it’s lovely! xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

