Gotta Love those Fundraisers

Some of us mums organised a crafty fundraiser at my little boy’s preschool a little while ago. We wanted to raise money to upgrade the playground furniture. It was a great little event! The rule was that we could only sell hand made things. Hand made by us of course. Need I say more? We loved it!!
Ok, so it wasn’t for everyone, but those of us who love to pick up a needle and thread were well up for it. So much so, that we organised an evening when about 10-15 of us got together at one of the mums’ house with our little sewing machines and our already-started-projects and sat around the big table to work together and help each other. I absolutely loved that evening!
It made me wonder why we don’t do this anymore? Wasn’t it great when women sewed together and chatted and sang and formed a unique bond between them? And their little children just absorbed all the knowledge from around that table?

I mean, just look at these pictures from old times:
(‘The Quilting Bee’ by Morgan Weistling)

(‘A Quilting Bee in the Olden Time’, engraving by D.W. Peirce)

They are such happy pictures!
I am so starting something similar when we’re settled back in the UK!! Do any of you attend anything similar?

These are a few things that I contributed to the fundraiser with:

I found the pattern to this doll on the lovely lovely Purl Bee site. The pattern was made by Mimi Kirchner.

And I made about a million gazzillion of these little birdies:

The pattern to this I found on Spool Sewing and it’s called ‘Bird Mobile‘.

The fundraiser went really well by the way and the school received a lot more money than they anticipated for! Yay for us!🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 08:48:56

    Nice blog! I love the bird mobile. I used to take part in a quilting bee, but that was in the States. There are lots of knitting groups that I know of in the UK, so I’m sure there must be sewing equivalents too – hope you find one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

