Mark Knopfler

Hands up who likes Mark Knopfler? Yes, he is great isn’t he? He has such mellow voice… you could listen to him for hours.

Now, hands up who had no idea who Mark Knopfler or Dire Straits were before you met your other half and was told to ‘get out of the car’ when admitted to not knowing who the ‘great band’ was on the first date?! Yes, yes, I’m in the later camp! (Obviously I didn’t get out of the car – and he didn’t mean it) My defence is that I’m a fare few years younger than Ian and back then at 19 I was more into Linkin Park than Dire Straits.
I still like rock… but I have mellowed down along with Mark Knopfler’s voice.

We went to see Mark’s London and Budapest concerts. (Oh no… one wasn’t enough…)

He was brilliant. In fact him aaand his band were brilliant. There was a whole lot of talent packed up on that stage! And besides the great music, the lovely thing was, that you could see how much these guys enjoyed playing music and working together.

I know there are some great bands out there.. but I keep wondering.. is Mark Knopfler one of the few of the last great musicians today?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pipany
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 21:55:09

    Hello there! Thank you so much for popping by my blog and leaing me some lovely comments. off for a read of your blog now x

    Reply

  2. The Hungarican Chick
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 22:02:57

    Hello to you! I’m afraid I don’t speak a jot of Hungarian… my father never taught us; but no fault of his own–my mother insisted that if he wanted us to speak Hungarian, the she would insist that we speak Spanish too… and since we lived in Belgium, it was decided we should focus on English and the local languages. So I speak four languages, but none of them are Hungarian.😦

    But nonetheless… Hello! And I’ve added your blog to my queue.

    Steph

    Reply

  3. do you mind if i knit
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 21:21:13

    I’m so pleased your relationship survived that little incident! That’s very funny, I’ve got a great image of your other half in my mind now! Love Vanessa xxx

    Reply

    • lalomino
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 21:28:22

      🙂 Thanks Vanessa! ps: I still loooove your shoes! Take them off the mantelpiece and wear them!!🙂 Or better yet, if they’re 5s, I know a loving home that will take care of them😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

