Summer reads

Oh dear… Where has the time gone?? I can’t believe I haven’t written anything for over a week…

To be fair, we have been busy. Entertaining the children, chores, running around etc etc. I have also been busy with my summer reading. Have I mentioned I’m studying for a uni degree? Well, this year I’m studying Children’s Literature. So looking forward to this one! Last year I did English Literature, which was ok but very demanding. Still, with a good tutor I did better than I expected when it came to writing our papers.

The reading material wasn’t nearly as exciting last year than it is this year though! I mean Turgenev’s Fathers and Sons vs. Alcott’s Little Women, or Shelley’s Frankenstein vs. Stevenson’s Treasure Island…. You get my point.

So far I’ve read Voices in the Park, The Tale of Peter Rabbit, Swallows and Amazons, Mortal Engines and Junk. Beats me how Junk fits into the children’s literature category, but it was very well written.

How about you? Have you got a summer read?

Oh, I found a post on Posie Gets Cozy on summer reading for children. Alicia put a great little list together with a couple of librarian’s help based on her readers’ suggestions. It’s all organised by age groups on a printable list. Well worth having a look ! And while you’re at Posie Gets Cozy… check out Alicia’s new studio! oh, oh, ooooh, I want one!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. simplycreativeart
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 11:37:34

    Now we’re talking. Peter Rabbit – that’s my kind of book (and concentration level nowadays)! Ahhhh takes me back a few years. I just hope you don’t tell me that Peter actually has a darker side!!! I tend not to read too much fiction anymore – so I’m extremely jealous of you reading some classics! Enjoy and forget yourself for a while!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

