Silent night, holy night…. lalalaaa

I feel so very Christmasy!! If you haven’t caught the ‘bug’ yet, have a look at my gorgeous gingerbread village and you’ll feel festive instantly too.

My beautiful mother made them all. She was visiting us and stayed for three weeks, much of which she spent cutting and baking and glueing and decorating.

She, my mum that is, is so very very lovely. I mentioned to her that I would love a gingerbread village and she set to it right away.

I so wish that we had space in the house that I could just keep my village as it is.

As it is, one of the houses will go to my mother-in-law’s, another will go to Max’s school. I’m KEEPING THE REST!!!

Or we could just eat on our knees on the couch until after Christmas and keep the table for the houses!! Somehow I don’t think the others would like the idea. Though I think it’s a good one!!

I wonder when we should start putting the rest of the decorations up. And the tree? Hmm… Sooner the better I think.

It’s meant to snow in the second half of the week. That’s very festive too, isn’t it? I really really don’t like driving on snow/ice, so that part I’m not looking forward to, but winter is beautiful when it’s snowy.

I’ve bought all the presents already too. Most of them are wrapped. I’m too good. I know!πŸ˜‰

So, do you feel festive yet?

Worst comes to worst you could always go to a shopping centre and listen to the Christmas music in every shop!

Go on. Get your baking tray out and start making a house! I’ll write the recipe down later. I’m late for Max’s school pick up so must dash.

ps: I love my mum

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sassy
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 17:04:22

    This is fantastic, i love how it looks. It must have taken your mum ages to make.

    Reply

  2. simplycreativeart
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 08:38:40

    Wooooow!!!!!!!! I’m speechless – your mum is an amazingly talented baker. It all looks sooo great. I love the fine details to the clock, roofs – well everything really (also like the addition of the candles for lanterns to give it that special Christmasy feel!) Oh and it looks incredibly tasty – uuumm yummy. What more can I say – your mum is a baker extraordinaire!

    Reply

  3. sassy
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 09:28:47

    Hi, I have added a picture of your beautiful gingerbread village and a link back to your blog on my blog. Hope this is ok, if you take a look and are not happy please let me know and i will remove it straight away.

    Reply

  4. Johanne
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 21:18:45

    What a wonderful dream world of gingerbread your mom created! I’m so impressed and inspired!

    Thank you for sharing this amazing yummy project (far too fantastic to eat!) and dropping by our site to say ‘hi’ today.

    -Johanne (the other Anabelle’s auntie :)).

    Reply

    • lalomino
      Dec 01, 2010 @ 14:27:04

      Hello Anabelle’s Auntie,πŸ™‚
      I’ll put the recipe on soon in case you want to make some too.πŸ™‚
      Veronika
      ps: I’m now inspired to host a cocktail party!! Just so I can wear a pretty dressπŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. herpage
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 00:56:34

    Wow! Truly amazing, and I hope you don’t mind my saying so, but yummy too! The village looks great! I can’t wait to see your other holiday pics!

    Reply

  6. Abbey
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 01:23:30

    Found your site through the link on your comment over at Posie Gets Cozy. Thanks for sharing! We make gingerbread houses every year and this gives me so many great ideas…

    My hat is off to your mother!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: 2010 in review « Lalomino

Leave a Reply

