The Lavey Christmas Tree

Yes, yes, yes!! It’s up and looking pretty. Pretty full of decorations actually, but still definitely pretty. Our Christmas Tree certainly is not an Ikea Christmas Tree. Oh no. There’s all sorts of colours here Ladies and Gentlemen. Pinks with reds, greens with blues and even tinsel. Yes, I did allow Ian to put one THIN red piece of tinsel on the tree. He thinks they’re great…

We went to a local tree buying place after Max’s school finished and the four of us chose our tree. Ok, so Anabelle wasn’t really choosing. She was running around or crying because she wanted to be picked up. And Max wanted most of them. Ian had a few suggestions. Ok, so I chose! But at least both Ian and Max think they did the choosing. We’re clever like that, mummies and wives.

See the blue round thing above the train? It’s called Habkarika. It’s basically a meringue that’s made into a circle in all sorts of pastel colours, then stung up and hung on trees in Hungary. Or, in this case the UK. Kent, in fact. Yay for my gorgeous sister, who sent me a packet of them. I would have been rubbish at making perfect round shapes.

This little frog is one of my favourite decorations. I try to buy one new piece each year to add to the collection. We bought the prince last year.

I wasn’t sure if we should have a real tree or a fake tree this year. I looked it up on the net and read all sorts of pros and cons. Did you know that fake trees can have lead in them? Because of this and because you can’t recycle them and because they don’t have that lovely lovely Christmas Tree smell (and no, you can’t just spray pine smell around the house. It will smell like a loo!), we decided to go for a real tree. It’s a chopped tree, so it will have to be recycled after Christmas, but I’m now thinking we’ll invest in a larger potted one for next year. We’ll be able to reuse our own tree then.

HOLD THE PHONE!!!!! Let me see this picture again:

GOLD TINSEL!! Sneaky, sneaky Ian! Seriously you give them your little finger and they want to bite off your whole arm!

Never mind. It’s Christmas. He can have his red AND gold tinsels. If it makes him happy. (cough… cough… tacky… cough, cough)

I took photos of decorations from around the house. I’ll put them on in the next post.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. do you mind if i knit
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 00:45:32

    Your tree decorations are lovely Veronika and I love that you allow tinsel, I always have tinsel, it makes everything sparkle! The Gingerbread village your mum made is AMAZING! That is an extraordinary creation, and it has lights! Magical! Thank you for the recipe for the gingerbread, that’s very kind of you.
    Love Vanessa xxx

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 05:42:10

    Your tree is beautiful Guys…. You really know how to make a home festive and full of joy! Merry Christmas wonderful Laveys xxxxx

    Reply

  3. simplycreativeart
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 10:47:34

    Gorgeous decorations, but love the tinsel touch! A Christmas tree without tinsel just isn’t the same. Btw very professionally taken photos – I see you’ve been practicing!

    Reply

  4. Klau
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 16:07:45

    I’m Truly amazed!🙂 And guess what, our tree will be soooo familiar!🙂 Maybe it’s the hungarian way… with lots of Habkarika ;-))I’m really glad that the kids are growin’ up in this fairy-tale you’re creating for yourselves :-)) Have a peaceful, and full-of-joy Christmas!! And thanks for letting me now this site – I will visit it from now on😉 Also, thaks for the recepie – I’m baking Mézeskalács on Thursday – so fingers crossed… (Wish I could do this with my mum😦 )

    Big kisses for all of you Darlin’ !!!

    Reply

    • lalomino
      Dec 21, 2010 @ 18:45:17

      Hello my sweet,
      Thanks so much for checking my blog out🙂 ! It will be a happier place with you!
      Yes, it’s getting more and more and more christmasy in the Lavey household. I’ve just put more fairy lights out in the house and dressed a mini Xmas tree in the kitchen🙂
      You’ll have to send me photos of your Mezeskalacs. (I wish you could do it with your mum too. Lots of love to you sweetcheeks)
      Hugs!!!!!!

      Reply

  5. Trackback: 2010 in review « Lalomino

Leave a Reply

