Pork Pockets Recipe

Hello, hello,

I made lovely lovely lunch today and I thought I’d share the recipe with you.

I had some pork loin steaks in the fridge and a few other bits and pieces and this is what I came up with.

To make:

Cut the fat bits off the loin steaks, salt both sides, cover with cling film and bash till it’s about 5mm thick.

Lay out a piece of kitchen foil (big enough so it can be made into pockets with space around the meat) drizzle a bit of olive oil on the foil and place the meat in the middle.

 

On the top of the meat you can put all sorts of bits, whatever you like to eat really. This is what I’ve put on and let me tell you, it was Delicious!!

sprinkle of lemon zest

chopped up apples

chopped up prunes

thinly sliced garlic

little knobs of butter

chopped up cherry tomatoes

sprinkle of parsley

just a hint of chilly

Fold two ends of the foil over the top of the meat, fold the other ends as well, but make sure there’s enough space around the meat. The air in the foil will help make everything juicy.

Pop the pockets in the oven at about 180C and leave for 40min or so. I left it in for 50, but I think that was a bit too much. I guess the time depends on how big your pork pieces are.

And there you have it. Ian said the taste was explosive! It really was beautiful. I served it with mashed potatoes (extra bits there were: leeks, shallots, cream cheese, sour cream) (mmmmm…..) and seasonal Brussels Sprouts.

And why not finish it off with a Blueberry and Blackberry Crumble? Ours sure tasted nice.

Leave a Reply

