Gifts

My friend Andi and I make each other’s Christmas pressies. It cannot be just bought, it HAS to be made!

Last year she made me a lovely wooden storage box and a bottle of rose hip juice. I made her a recipe book with my favourite made up recipes.

This year this is what she got from me:

I wasn’t sure if I should turn the cut around after I finished with it, so it would be all white, or leave my sketch visible. I thought it might be quite nice to follow the process within the picture, so I left the pencil lines in.

Ok, so it’s not perfect, but not too bad for my second try! And to be honest, I think the design is lovely. The flower is a Hungarian motif. I have a book with lots of folky Hungarian flowers, that give me ideas…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. simplycreativeart
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 01:36:02

    Fantastic paper cutting (seriously) – really, really enjoyed it. You’re making me itch to have a go I especially liked the Hungarian flower – I know it’s a bit cheesy and cliche to say so but I think flowers are so  symbolic of our feelings and ooze life (I try to use them in my work wherever possible despite being teased by a few!) and this comes across in your paper cutting, which has quite a romanticist feel to it. Also I get the sense of your love of textiles coming through –  you should be very proud of yourself. Excellent stuff.
    Btw had to comment on Ian’s drawing too. He obviously has hidden talents! Looks like he’s really getting into the swing of things – you’ll have to start a Lavey family open studio soon! Hope you all had a great Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

