Knit knit knit

My sister-in-law Jo is great at knitting. Her great grandmother taught her the basics when she was a little girl and she figured the rest out on her own. She’s made great little cardigans and jumpers and blankets for Max and Anabelle, so I thought… just the person to help me move on from my basic knowledge of knitting. And because she’s that sweet, she said ‘Sure thing!’.

Yay!

So after breakfast today, we packed up. That is mostly Max packed up, because he had to take, his Spiderman suit, his Spiderman gun, his cross-bow and arrows, his Mitsubishi car and a book. Not that he played with any of it, as they were busy on the trampoline…. Never mind. I also had a little space in the bag for my knitting needles, some yarn and my Kids Knits book.

The funny thing is that I’m ever so excited about learning how to knit properly. As in, understanding the patterns and the jargon and knowing how to increase and decrease, etc. I just can’t wait to be able to make lovely hand made cardigans and jumpers and bits and pieces for the family.

My niece Rosie joined us too and she learned how to knit basic. So there we were, three girls, chatting away while busy with needles and yarn and eating cakes and muffins. Bliss…

Jo decided to do a tea-cozy.

And I was to try and make Anabelle her first ballerina cardigan. It actually went very well, until we measured it against Anabelle, and it’s about 2 or 3 sizes too big… Oh dear. So I’ll have to take it all off. But you know what? I don’t mind. Because I really liked doing it. And I loved being able to learn a few new things from Jo. There’s still plenty more to learn, so hopefully we’ll get to have another knitting-bee afternoons really soon. Until then, I will battle along on my own trying to make sense of pattern-talk.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bogyay Éva
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 21:18:55

    BUÉK!
    Ha jól emlékszem kislány korodban már kötögettél. Az alapokat tudod, a többit már csak akarni kell. Könyvből, kötös ujságokból tanultam meg én is a kötés minden csinját, Hajrá, ha akarod akkor lesz balerina kabát!

    Reply

  2. lalomino
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 10:08:39

    BUEK!
    Technika oran tanultam az alapokat, es jol megmaradtak bennem. Probalgatom fejleztgetni, remelem menni fog! Ha kesz a kardigan, felteszem a blogra!

    Reply

  3. simplycreativeart
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 20:00:58

    Keep up with the lessons – it’s such a worthwhile skill that isn’t taught widely anymore. I still wear a couple of sweaters my mum made me last year, I even (embarrassingly) had a go when I was a little nipper. My niece and nephew have a whole wardrobe full and always look forward to seeing her knitted creations. She even goes through a mini design process with them! I can just see you doing the same!

    Reply

  4. lalomino
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 20:17:52

    I hope I will!!🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Mistakes « Lalomino
  6. Jo
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 15:03:54

    Hey there!
    I have to apologise for not getting a proper look at this earlier – The photos are very, very good! You haven’t put the finished article on here though…? Have you decided what’s next? Looking forward to our next knitting bee!

    xxxx

    Reply

  7. Trackback: The first finished piece « Lalomino

Leave a Reply

