Our Hungarian House

From April 2008 until summer last year we lived in my home country, in Hungary. It was for several reasons really, but mainly so Max could go to kindie there and pick the language up (rather than just hearing it from me); to save money; and to be near my family. Then it came with the added benefits of lots of sunshine and being able to buy a house that we would never EVER be able to afford in the UK. Unless of course we win lotto or my non-existant terribly rich aunt leaves me millions of pounds. Ok, so our Hungarian house didn’t cost a million pounds. Not even close. But it was beautiful. I thought I’d share a few pictures with you.

And there you have it. A taste of what used to be ours. It really was a magical place with so much character. I hope the new owners of the house love it as much as we did!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Hungarican Chick
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 20:05:42

    Absolutely stunning cottage! I want one! I’d love to go and stay in Hungary too, and get to know my father’s birthplace better–maybe meet some of the few members of my family still existing. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. lalomino
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 07:55:48

    I’m glad you like it🙂 I hope you’ll be able to go someday soon and experience the culture and the country. I think you would love it🙂 !

    Reply

  3. Aaron Blutstein
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 16:47:27

    What a beautiful house made even better by your own stamp on the place, which I can spot all over! I absolutely love those arch bedroom windows. Hope you didn’t get rid of that cow pic though – I want one😎. Rugs on the bread stove chimney thingy – cute and cuddly. You certainly made it your own. Oh and you must be suuuuch a tidy person, I don’t think i’ve seen such an orderly kitchen with matching jars and things all in their place – very military like. Woe betide the person who untidies your domain – only kidding!
    Beautiful scenery that must have been an idyllic place to live. At least you had a couple of great years with your family out there and will look back on them with fondness.

    Reply

    • lalomino
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 21:23:08

      Aaron, I wish you could have seen it in person! You would have loved it even more. It was inspiring.
      I won’t let you not come to the next place you know!

      Reply

  4. Bogyay Éva
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:51:44

    …hát én nem tudtam volna itt hagyni, ezt a szép házat, otthont…miért nem tettétek kerekekre és huztátok volna magatokkal…

    Reply

  5. do you mind if i knit
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:01:39

    Beautiful! I love that rich yellow it’s painted, just gorgeous. You must have been sad to leave that beautiful house. Love Vanessa xxx

    Reply

    • lalomino
      Feb 05, 2011 @ 17:21:30

      I loved the yellow of the house too Vanessa. It was so warm and inviting, even in the winter! We were a bit sad to leave the house, but the way we saw it that chapter of our lives ended, it was time for a new page!🙂

      Reply

  6. hekka
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 08:48:52

    Gyönyörű! Nem is tudom, hogy a belső tér tetszik-e jobban, vagy a mesés kert a labdarózsával és az elengedhetetlen diófával. Csodás otthon lehetett.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

