A Cricket Book

Isn’t it beautiful?

It was one of my Christmas presents from my dad. He knows me too well! I adore old children’s books, especially ones with beautiful illustrations, like this one here. It’s called Tucsok Toni, which translates to Tony Cricket. It’s written by Hungarian author, Maroti Lajos and the illustration is by Gozon Lajos.

The story is written in verse and is about this cricket that plays the violin beautifully then is taken away by a fairy princess, where he becomes a different cricket. No longer his old self, he cannot play the violin as beautiful anymore and is sent away from the palace, only to be found by one of his enemies who almost kills him. He’s then found by his family and his fiancee who nurse him better and encourage him to play his music again.

It’s a lovely book.

I find pictures like these so inspiring. They just take you away to another world!

I would just love to be able to sit down one day and just paint something like this. That would be fab. But I think I need an awful lot of practice before I come even close to Gozon Lajos’s level of talent.

Still, I can’t wait to have my own little studio and start trying.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Klau
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 13:06:17

    This reminds me to the beloved books from my childhood🙂 I didn’t let my mum to do anything, I always wanted her to read me those ones again-and-again. Now I have nearly all of them in one safe place, and hopefully I will read them to my children… They’re so much better than any book nowdays.
    And yours is sooooo beautiful!!!

    Reply

  2. lalomino
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:39:37

    I have most of my books too from when I was little. They now have a new place on Max and Anabelle’s bookshelf. It’s great to pick them up again and reminisce.

    Reply

  3. simplycreativeart
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 17:46:49

    You really have to have a go at painting something as magical as these illustrations – they’re really lovely, and I’d love to see your work and ideas. What a beautiful present from your dad, and what a great tale!

    Reply

  4. Kirsty
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 02:23:19

    Wow that is too lovely! What a great Dad. So sweet.

    Reply

  5. Kori
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 16:00:08

    Thanks for your sweet comments honey. I hope you will visit again. I love this book, how beautiful it is! Have a great day…Kori xoxo

    Reply

  6. do you mind if i knit
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:39:17

    What an extraordinary tale! The illustrations are beautiful aren’t they, very evocative, the woodland scene is lovely, thank you for the viewing Veronika. Love Vanessa xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

