The Valentine’s Day post

I think there are mainly two extremes of opinion when it comes to Valentine’s Day. Most people seem to either hate it or love it. I’m sort of in between the two. We never did anything major for Valentine’s. We don’t follow the commercial side of the day, so there aren’t any red and pink balloons or expensive cards around the house on the 14th.

We don’t tend to go out for dinner either, because it’s just so very expensive. All restaurants seem to have a special menu that day, TWICE the price of their normal. Ok, maybe not twice, but definitely more expensive. So we stay at home and if anything cook a special meal at home. But most of the time we don’t bother with that either, just eat with the kids as usual.

I don’t say no to handmade gifts though that has a lot of thought put into them and truly came from the heart rather than a wallet/shop. The little book above was all handmade by me. I cut it, bound it, designed it, wrote it. Each page has ‘I love you’ written in different languages and why I love my husband so much.

The gist of it: he’s my missing half. Without him I would not be me. I would not be complete.

This box was another present I made Ian a few years back. It had a book in it, that I was aiming to write in every year with what we achieved that year.

This was that year. We got pregnant with Max! A special year, don’t you think?

Unfortunately after the second entry in the book, it sort of got forgotten… oh well… the thought was there!!

This box wasn’t actually for Valentine’s Day, but I made it because I love Ian all the time. I was going back to New Zealand from the UK to organise our wedding and I wanted to leave something for Ian that will remind him everyday how much I care for him and how much I look forward to our shared lives together. So on each page there’s a little love-note for each day until we got married.

Whether you think much of Valentine’s Day or not, I hope you have someone special in your life who loves you and who you love very much. And no, it doesn’t have to be a boyfriend, girlfriend, husband, wife. It could be anyone special in your life. Just be thankful for them and love them everyday!

xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. simplycreativeart
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 19:48:12

    What lovely gestures – Ian is a very lucky guy to have such a sweet and talented wife! Your book is really, really fantastic, it must have taken ages – I so want to have a go but haven’t a clue how to book bind though, maybe you can show me one day. Being left handed my calligraphic talents are pretty basic to say the least – my normal hand writing can be almost illegible to most, so you have my complete admiration for being able to produce such beautiful expressive script for such a meaningful book. Lovely comment at the end of your post btw.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

