A dolls house find!

I’ve been looking out for a dolls’ house for Anabelle for a while now. I didn’t want to get her a new one because a) it’s horribly expensive and b) isn’t it just much nicer when you have something that has its own history already?

Ian and I walked into town to the post office and decided to walk through town instead of taking the short cut on the way home. There are four charity shops in our little town and when I looked over to one of them I saw a big dolls’ house ‘waving’ to me through the window!

‘Ian, Dolls’ house!, Ian, Dolls’ house!!!’

We went, we saw, we bought!

Yay! I was so excited on the way home and was planning already how I was going to make it look lovely for Anabelle. Ian made a comment about how he’s not sure who was going to play with the house more… Honestly… what a comment to make!

The house is not in tip top condition, but in my mind that just makes it all the better, because we’ll get to make it our own.

I don’t actually know what period it’s meant to represent, or what country it’s from. The shop assistant thought it may be French. Any of you out there dolls’ house experts? I would love to find out more about it.

It isn’t actually as small as it may look like from the photos. To show you, I sat beside it.

See? Definitely big enough for a little girl to play with. (fine, fine, fine, and maybe her mum too!)

I’m so curious about what might have been around the front door. There are two holes there, so something must have been there. Any ideas?

These little windows actually open! For, you know, when we need to ummm… air the house!

The flooring and wallpapering will need to be done throughout. It’s all wired up, so Ian will have a look at the lighting in it and hopefully we can turn them on one day!

Isn’t this just the cutest light fitting you’ve seen? I can’t wait until we turn it on.

After taking these photos Ian and I got a bit carried away with taking photos and produced some ‘arty’ ones! Et voila:

Bonjour through the window there!

Let me in! Let me in! Where’s my ‘eat-me’ cake??

Ah! There you are! Now, I’m small enough to go through the house and find this!!:

Hahaha! Fab!

I’m hoping to do the house up by Christmas so Anabelle can have it as her ‘big’ present. We’ll see. It’s definitely an exciting project!

xx

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aaron Blutstein
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 13:33:31

    Hey, you have a knack for Sniffing out incredible finds! Great looking dolls house – I know the amount of time and effort that would have gone into building it, so I bet it’s over the moon it has a great family of new custodians to care for it in it’s twilight year🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 20:54:33

    Brilliant! I can’t wait to see the finished result. I think the little holes by the door were for either little hanging baskets of flowers or perhaps even little lights to light the entrance. Happy restoring!

    Reply

  3. lalomino
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 07:36:11

    Thanks for that Sarah! I like the flower basket idea! xx

    Reply

  4. Janet Granger
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 11:24:13

    It looks to me like it might be a ‘Greenleaf’ make – American colonial style, kind of comparable with the Georgian era in England (even though it’s not ‘old’).

    A lovely house, whatever the style!

    Have fun doing it up🙂

    Reply

    • lalomino
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 10:25:36

      Thank you so much for that Janet! By looking at your blog, you’re quite an expert on dolls’ houses! I love the little needle point pictures you do!🙂

      Reply

  5. do you mind if i knit
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 09:01:11

    What a FABULOUS find! It really is a truly beautiful house for dolls. Love the toilet roll holder! I think this house might end up being your dolls house not your daughters! Love Vanessa xxx

    Reply

  6. Christy
    May 15, 2011 @ 21:16:04

    What an adorable dollhouse! But I must admit, the ones of you peering through scared me for a second. That’s okay, though. I have a photo collection of my great-grandma’s dolls. She’s 96, and some of those, I swear, come to life at the witching hour.

    Reply

    • lalomino
      May 30, 2011 @ 20:34:57

      Oh my gosh, I know what you mean Christy!! I’m not a huge fan of ‘proper’ dolls! Ever since my sister made me watch Chucky when I was teeny tiny!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

